Thursday, September 18, 2014

Hello Nigerians: 2015 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Competition Is Open for Entry

Romesh Gunesekera, Chair of the 2015 judging panel, with last year's winner, Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Writers have two months to enter their short story.

Each year, we select five winning writers from five different Commonwealth regions who share a total prize money of £15,000. The overall winner receives £5,000, one of the highest amounts for an international short story prize open to unpublished writers. Regional winners receive £2,500.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize brings stories from new and emerging voices, often from countries with little or no publishing infrastructure, to the attention of an international audience. You don’t need an agent, just an internet connection to submit your unpublished story of 2000-5000 words.

Entry is free. Stories translated into English are also eligible.
The closing date is 15 November 2014.

Do have a look at the interviews and writings about the short story.

Submit your short story via the online application form between 15 September and 15 November 2014.

This year’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize is part-funded by The Sigrid Rausing Trust.

To participate free, kindly submit your short story by clicking on the link below:

Goodluck Nigeria!!

No comments:

Post a Comment